Mapping Your MSO Path


Manufacturing Safety Officer (MSO) Designation

Program requirements
6 core + 6 elective courses + MHSA Examination + 3 years of work experience


Leadership Safety Excellence (LSE) Proficiency

  • LSE Course

  • Safety Meeting and/or Toolbox Meeting with supporting documentation (i.e. sign-off sheet)

  • Completed Incident Investigation

  • Completed Company Hazard Assessment (MHSA format)

  • Completed Company Worksite Safety Inspection

Program Completion and Certification

When you have completed all of the requirements, submit your completed MSO application for evaluation to

Next steps:

  • The regional MSO Coordinator will contact you to coordinate testing

  • Test examination guidelines

Contact us for more information.